Item added to your cart.

Anarchist Gospel
Sunny War
New West Records
Catalogue Number
NW6532 SD
Release Date
February 3, 2023
  • Vinyl 1×LP, Limited Coloured

    Pre-order $21.99
    Read More

    NW5712 SLP

    • 150g red, black & white hand-poured color vinyl
    • 12", 1-LP, gatefold
    • Signed

    Estimated release date: February 3, 2023

  • Vinyl 1×LP

    Pre-order $21.99
    Read More

    NW5702 LP

    • 150g black vinyl
    • 12", 1-LP, gatefold

    Estimated release date: February 3, 2023

  • CD

    Pre-order $11.99


    Read More

    NW6352 CD

    Estimated release date: February 3, 2023

  • Download

    Pre-order $9.99
    Select format

    320 kbps, LAME-encoded

    Available: February 3, 2023

“I feel like there are two sides of me,” says the Nashville-based singer-songwriter and guitar virtuoso known as Sunny War. “One of them is very self-destructive, and the other is trying to work with that other half to keep things balanced.” That’s the central conflict on her fourth album, the eclectic and innovative Anarchist Gospel, which documents a time when it looked like the self-destructive side might win out.

Extreme emotions can make that battle all the more perilous, yet from such trials Sunny has crafted a set of songs that draw on a range of ideas and styles, as though she’s marshaling all her forces to get her ideas across: ecstatic gospel, dusty country blues, thoughtful folk, rip-roaring rock and roll, even avant garde studio experiments. She melds them together into a powerful statement of survival, revealing a probing songwriter who indulges no comforting platitudes and a highly innovative guitarist who deploys spidery riffs throughout every song.

Because it promises not healing but resilience and perseverance, because it doesn’t take shit for granted, Anarchist Gospel holds up under such intense emotional pressure, acknowledging the pain of living while searching for something that lies just beyond ourselves, some sense of balance between the bad and the good.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Love's Death Bed (feat. Allison Russell and Chris Pierce) 3:00
  2. 2 No Reason 2:39
  3. 3 Shelter And Storm (feat. David Rawlings) 2:40
  4. 4 I Got No Fight 4:59
  5. 5 Swear To Gawd (feat. David Rawlings and Chris Pierce) 2:49
  6. 6 Earth (feat. Jim James) 3:23
  7. 7 New Day 3:21
  8. 8 Baby Bitch 2:57
  9. 9 His Love 2:31
  10. 10 Hopeless (feat. Allison Russell and Chris Pierce) 4:56
  11. 11 Higher (feat. David Rawlings) 3:23
  12. 12 Test Dummy 2:24
  13. 13 Sweet Nothing 7:07
  14. 14 Whole 3:19
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences